Bookmark and Share


Fleeman Captures Super Six Golden Egg


Fleeman Captures Super Six Golden Egg

Two Super Six wins in a row makes 2009 struggles only a memory


                Braselton, GA (April 3, 2010) – While many families look forward to spending time with family and loved ones during the Easter weekend, quality family time was spent this past Saturday night at Lanier National Speedway in victory lane, during the running of the RS Trucking Spring Explosion.  Russell Fleeman, driver of the #98 US Auto Sales Ford Fusion collected his second straight win of the Red Top Auto Auction Super Six Series of 2010 season, while daughter Amber Fleeman collected her second win of the year driving her #98 US Auto Sales Bandolero Outlaw earlier in the evening.

            “The team really worked hard to get this car to where it is now.  It was a great driving car, and really makes tonight a special night,” said Russell Fleeman.  When asked about his winless drought earlier in the year of the 2009 season, “ The way that we are running now, defiantly makes up for the struggles that we faced this year.  I want to thank Lanier National Speedway, the fans, and the increasing car count for making tonight a great night for us and for supporting the track.” 

            Earlier in the afternoon, during Red Top Auto Auction Super Six qualifying, the Fleeman lead team collected the pole award with a blistering speed of 13.701 seconds around the 3/8th’s mile oval.  Late Model star Jason Hogan, driving the #92 Hogan Lumber Ford Fusion, also set a blistering pace, 13.745 seconds, only second best to Fleeman’s.  At the drop of the green flag, Fleeman would set the early pace, leading the 13 car field around the “Home of the Big Cheese” with Hogan and the rest of the field on his back bumper.  Hogan would manage to pass Fleeman on lap 10, but as the two would race side by side, putting on a show stopping performance of professional driving.  Fleeman would regain the lead on lap 40, as he passed the Hogan machine on lap 40.  The caution flag flew for the first time of the Red Top Auto Auction Super Six event on lap 46 when Kevin Stephens machine lost power and stopped in turn three.    As the field received the green flag, entering turn two turned into an exciting corner for Jared Stokes, as he spun, bring out the caution.  On the third restart, Hogan coached driver Dalton Grindle spun entering turn one, bring out the yellow flag, third for the event, all on lap 46.  Once the green flag flew again, Fleeman took the early lead, and never looked back as he collected the checkered flag, while Hogan, Trey Poole, Shane Sawyer, and Dwayne Buggay rounded out the top five. 

            Creating excitement in the Super Truck division was the news and announcement of Garrison Racing Equipment stepping up and becoming the title sponsor of the “Garrison Racing Equipment Super Truck” division.  Earlier in the afternoon, racing legend Gary McCoy and his #02 machine captured the fastest qualifying run of the eight truck field with a fast time of 15.393 seconds.  Upon the dice roll, McCoy rolled a three, meaning that he would start the feature in third position, while Eric Wallace stared on the pole, followed alongside by Cody Puckett for the 30 lap feature.  When the green flag flew, Wallace’s #12 truck appeared to loosed power, stalling him in turn one.  The caution flag flew as Lanier safety workers pushed his truck to the pits for the remainder of the event.  Puckett would gain the pole position on the green with Bill Hoose on the outside of the front row.  Hoose would use the outside starting position to his advantage as he passed Puckett leading the first lap, and by lap 20 gaining a lead of 3.678 seconds over second place McCoy.  After a couple of caution flags for spins and debris, Hoose would hold on to the lead, and collecting his first victory of the year.  Victory Lane proved to be a golden opportunity for the entire Hoose family, as they was all in attendance, and even celebrated with the Easter Bunny.

            The evenings biggest “Hold On” moment happened on lap 8 of the INEX Legend Young Lion/Semi-Pro portion of the event, when on a restart, Judson Kittle gave the fans on trackside a close up and personal view of all angles of his #18 machine when he went for a rolling tumble, as contact was made with Matthew Johnson.  Both drivers climbed out of their cars without any injuries and to the applause of the fans.  Sean Rayhall would collect the overall win, and also the Young Lions win, while RS Senter was the fasted Semi Pro racer. 

            Other racers who collected a coveted win for the “RS Trucking Spring Explosion” went to Hunter Hazelwood in the Bandolero Bandits, Kyle Plott in the INEX Legends Pro division, Rick Geddes in the INEX Masters, James Nash in the Mini-Stock division and David Murphy in the Outlaw Late Model division.  In the spectator race, Vernon Hicks in his super fast Ford Lighting edition truck, held off challenges from Lanier National Speedway officials Donnie Clack, Len Simpson, and Jason.

            Don’t miss the fastest action this Saturday night, April 10th, as the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour, and the USAC Carolina Ford Focus Midget Series are preparing to blow the doors off with 130 mile per hour breath taking speeds.  Local divisions running will be the Bandoleros, Legends, Mini-Stocks, Pro Challenge, and Mini-Cups.  Grandstand gates will open at 5pm, with feature racing action ‘sprinting’ at 7pm.

            For more information about Lanier National Speedway, including exciting sponsorship opportunities, trackside live, for those few chances that you aren’t able to make it every Saturday night to keep up with the racing action, along with many more exciting things happening at the “family fun racetrack” visit the fastest site on the web at or contact the speedway office at 770-967-8600.



Bandolero Results (UNOFFICIAL)

1. Amber Fleeman (Outlaw)
2. Hunter Hazelwood (Bandit)
3. Will Davidson (Bandit)
4. Garrett Smithley (Outlaw)
5. Jami Weimer (Outlaw)
6. Chayse York (Outlaw)


Legends Young Lion & Semi-Pro Results (UNOFFICIAL)

1. Sean Rayhall (YL)
2. RS Senter (SP)
3. Tyler Edwards (SP)
4. Amber Colvin (SP)
5. Justin Thomas (YL)
6. Taylor Griffith (SP)
7. Sean McPherson (SP)
8. Dalton Robertson (YL)
9. Robert Wilkerson (SP)
10. Casey Tucker (SP)
11. Matthew Johnson (YL)
12. Judson Kittle (YL)


Legends Pro-Master Results (UNOFFICIAL)

1. Kyle Plott (P)
2. Will Prance (P)
3. Taylor Hull (P)
4. Rick Geddes (M)
5. Phillip Young (M)
6. Mike Brooks (M)
7. Larry Friddle (M)
8. Todd Brooks (P)
9. Jeff Jordan (M)
10. Joe Edwards (M)


Mini Stock Results (UNOFFICIAL)

1. James Nash
2. Allen Cantrell
3. Spanky Hicks
4. Lance Beck
5. Scotty Beck
6. Bill George
7. Brandon Amos


Outlaw Late Model Results (UNOFFICIAL)

1. David Murphy
2. Mike Silvey
3. Chad Richardson


Garrison Racing Equipment SuperTrucks Results (UNOFFICIAL)

1. Bill Hoose
2. Matt Vassar
3. Daryl Broome
4. Houston Smith
5. Cody Puckett
6. Gary McCoy
7. Phillip Young
8. Eric Wallace


RS Trucking "Spring Explosion" 100
Red Top Auto Auction Super Six Series Results (UNOFFICIAL)

1. Russell Fleeman
2. Jason Hogan
3. Trey Poole
4. Shane Sawyer
5. Dwayne Buggay
6. Tony Bennett
7. Tom Schuette
8. Kyle Benjamin
9. Dalton Grindle
10. Jared Stokes
11. Kevin Stephens
12. Bobby Weatherly
13. Jonathan Chandler

This article posted by Lanier Raceplex (fka Lanier National Speedway). Click here for more track information.