Bookmark and Share


Bohanan Wins Seventh as A. Scroggins, Palmer, Richardson, Wolff and Womack Win First


Rob Nugent, Track Announcer/Social Media/PR


POCOLA, OK (October 7th, 2017) – The 47th consecutive season of point racing at Tri-State Speedway is now complete at the famous high banks in Pocola, OK. 72 cars checked in to either run for a championship or get a little practice in for the upcoming $70,000 38th Annual Spooker. Mother Nature provided the area with a few morning showers, but those cleared out and temps were around the 90-degree mark at 7 PM. After the sun set, the temperatures dropped into a more comfortable lower 80’s.

The pre-race ceremonies started at 7:04 PM with the invocation and national anthem as several cars, including potential Super Stock point champion, Randy Moses, Sr., carried the American flag during its playing.

Heat race lineups for all six classes competing, except for the IMCA Modifieds, were determined by the driver’s draw at sign in each night. The classes advanced to their features via their finish in their heats, except the IMCA Modifieds who are lined up by point averages. Plus, the last heat winner in each class drew a number for the number of rows to invert for their A Features, except the IMCA Modifieds.

At intermission, everyone had a chance to grab themselves some food items from the concessions as race winners from the previous week were on hand to get their trophies and photos taken. Fujibayashi Photography also provided the top three point drivers in each class with photo to autograph for their fans. The 50/50 drawing was also held. Thanks to Tyler Wolff and R. C. Whitwell for opening up their hauler and cars for the fans to check out at intermission, too.


The Factory Stock A Feature was on the track first and Andrew Bohanan (51 – Stigler, OK) picked up his seventh win of the season. Last week’s winner, Cody Jones (UFO – Fort Smith, AR), crossed the line in second place over Mike Wiseman (DT1 - Muskogee, OK).

Up next was the USRA B-Mod A Feature where Aaron Scroggins (1/4 – Neosho, MO) made his first trip to Victory Lane this season. Last week’s winner, Daniel Tarkington (2 – Checotah, OK), took home second place over Dustin’s Dream driver, Dean Green (28 – Siloam Springs, AR).

The Super Stock A Feature hit the track next. Dale Richardson (327 – Muskogee, OK) was able to capture his first win of the season over Danny Womack (3 - Bixby, OK). Gean Davlin (26 – Shady Point, OK) crossed the finish line in third.

The IMCA Modifieds were up next and saw H Palmer (X15 - Muldrow, OK) take home his first win of the season in this class. Kayden Menasco (49 – Muldrow, OK) took home second place over Shawn Pinkerton (999 – Cedarville, AR).

The USRA Modifieds took to the high banks next for their A Feature. Tyler Wolff (4 – Fayetteville, AR) crossed the line first for his first win of the season as R. C. Whitwell (96) finished in second over Logan Robertson (23 – Shamrock, TX).

The Grand Nationals were the last cars on the track for their A Feature that saw Danny Womack (3 - Bixby, OK) take come his first win of the season in this class. Darin Rigney (26 – Gentry, AR) took home second over Dylan Davlin (26D – Shady Point, OK).

All race results, including heats are available on our website at The current top three drivers in each class are also posted there, as well as full season point standings for each class.


This week also wrapped up the 47th consecutive year for the hard-fought points that culminate in a track championship. Congratulations to the 2017 champions: Factory Stock – Wesley Bourne (5 – Cameron, OK); USRA B-Mod – Lonny Flanagan (7 – Rudy, AR); Super Stock – Randy Moses, Sr. (75 – Muskogee, OK); IMCA Modified – Kayden Menasco (49 – Muldrow, OK); USRA Modified – Trevor Latham (27L – Rogers, AR). A big thank you goes out to all our weekly competitors who battled it out on the high-banks all season long. Details will be announced soon for the 47th Annual Awards Banquet.


Tri-State Speedway will return to action again on October 11th, 12th, 13th and 14th. 2017 for the 38th Annual Spooker with over $70,000 up for grabs in twelve different classes.

Gates times and start time differ each day during the Spooker. Complete details can be found by going to our website at

The complete 2017 racing schedule can always be found on our website at  Also, be sure to stay up to date with us via our social media channels on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and YouTube which can be found by clicking the icons on the bottom of our website home page or by adding a “/” plus “Facebook”, “Twitter”, “Google+” or “YouTube” at the end so it looks like, etc.

We will see YOU soon!


• 38th Annual Spooker will be held on October 11th, 12th, 13th and 14th, 2017 with over $70,000 up for grabs in 12 different racing classes. More information can be found on our website at

This article posted by Tri-State Speedway. Click here for more track information.