Bookmark and Share


Peyton Wins $5K, as Bohanan Wins Three and Wheeler, Hawkins and Gould Win First


Rob Nugent, Track Announcer/Social Media/PR


POCOLA, OK (July 21st-22nd, 2017) – The eleventh points race of the season at the legendary Tri-State Speedway saw three more first-time winners this season during the 19th Annual Super Stock Showdown presented by Shamrock Bolt & Screw Company. Once again Mother Nature tried to put a damper on this weekend’s events with 100-degree temperatures that caused other tracks to cancel their racing for the weekend. With a lot of extra track work, the track was very raceable and fast, even though there were a few delays in getting the events underway due to the excessive heat.

The pre-race ceremonies kicked off each night’s activities with the invocation and the National Anthem. Super Stock drivers, Randy Moses, Sr. aka “Big Moe”, who is the current point leader, and Roy Long, last week’s driver of the week, presented the nation’s colors with a parade lap during the national anthem on Saturday night.

Heat race lineups for all classes, except the IMCA Modifieds, were determined by the driver’s draw at sign in. The IMCA Modifieds followed the published rules for that class, which utilizes the driver’s point average for starting positions. The classes, that drew for their starting heat position, advanced to their features via their finish in their heats. Plus, the last heat winner in each class, other than IMCA Modifieds, drew a number for the number of cars to invert for the A Feature.

At intermission each night, everyone had a chance to grab themselves some of the great food items from the concession including some walking tacos and an ice-cold Coca-Cola 20 oz. drink to wash it all down with. Saturday night, fans had the opportunity to get some shaved ice from Kona Ice, too.


The Pure Stock A Feature hit the track first after intermission and saw the same car win for the third week in a row but with the driver from two weeks ago. Andrew Bohanan (51 – Stigler, OK) took home his third win of the season as point leader, Wesley Bourne (5 – Cameron, OK) finished in second place ahead of Rick Edgerton (27 – Fort Smith, AR).

The next A Feature was for the IMCA Modifieds. Ronnie Gould (1 – Calera, OK) finished first, for his first win of the season, ahead of last week’s winner, Michael Hines (57M – Van Buren, AR). Jason Payton (6 – Greenwood, AR) took home third and sits in second in the season points by only a three-point margin.

Next on the track were two dashes for the first and second place finishers from the Super Stock qualifying heat races to set the top five and second five positions for Saturday night’s A Feature. The first race was for the five heat race winners and had Peyton Taylor (01X – Batesville, AR) taking home the win as two-time event winner, Tony Anglin (G1 – Walnut Ridge, AR) crossed the line first in the second dash.


The first race on the track after intermission was the USRA B-Mod A Feature where Chris Hawkins (1XX – Neosho, MO) went to Victory Lane for the first time this season. Lonny Flanagan (7 - Rudy, AR) improved on his third-place finish from the previous two weeks for a second place run ahead of Chad Summerford (03 – Centerton, AR).

The USRA Modifieds took to the high banks next for their A Feature. Chad Wheeler (88 – Muskogee, OK) took home his first win of the season over teammate, Tate Cole (89 – Muskogee, OK). Point leader, Trevor Latham (27L – Rogers, AR) crossed the line in third.

The last race on the track was the non-point, 40 lap, $5,000 to win Super Stock A Feature. Peyton Taylor (01X – Batesville, AR) was able to overcome a broken left-rear break rotor mid-race to take home the big money in this event for the first time in his career. Two-time winner, Burl Woods (135 – Republic, MO) finished in second ahead of Robby Arnold (60 – Paragould, AR) who won two of the three nights of the Triple Threat Weekend earlier this season.

All race results, including heats and B Features, are available on our website at The current top three drivers in each class are also posted there, as well as full season point standings for each class.


Tri-State Speedway will take the weekend of July 29th off and will return to action again on August 5th for the 38th Annual Summertime Classic. More details will be released in the coming days.

Don’t forget the new starting time of 8 PM with both pit gates and grandstand gates opening at 5 PM. Driver’s meeting is at 7 PM and hot laps are scheduled for 7:30 PM.

The complete 2017 racing schedule can always be found on our website at  Also, be sure to stay up to date with us via our social media channels on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and YouTube which can be found by clicking the icons on the bottom of our website home page or by adding a “/” plus “Facebook”, “Twitter”, “Google+” or “YouTube” at the end so it looks like, etc.

We will see YOU soon!

This article posted by Tri-State Speedway. Click here for more track information.