Bookmark and Share


​Green Doubles Up, Bohanan Wins First as K. Slader, Payton and Latham Win Again


Rob Nugent, Track Announcer/Social Media/PR


POCOLA, OK (June 17th, 2017) – The seventh points race of the season at the legendary Tri-State Speedway was met with better than expected weather conditions. With temps in the mid-80’s versus the predicted 95+ and a light southerly breeze, the fans and drivers were able to enjoy a nice mid-June evening at the facility in Pocola, Oklahoma.

The pre-race ceremonies started at 8:00 PM with the invocation and the National Anthem for the drivers and fans. Due to some last minute track maintenance, the first heat race received their green flag at 8:20 PM.

Heat race lineups for all classes, except the IMCA Modifieds, were determined by the driver’s draw at sign in. The IMCA Modifieds followed the published rules for that class, which utilizes the driver’s point average for starting positions. The classes, that drew for their starting heat position, advanced to their features via their finish in their heats. Plus, the last heat winner in each class, other than IMCA Modifieds, drew a number for the number of cars to invert for the A Feature.

At intermission, everyone had a chance to grab themselves some of the great food items from the concession stand along with an ice-cold Coca-Cola product to wash it all down. Fans were also able to visit with the ladies from the River Valley Chapter of the American Cancer Society Relay for Life and help with their fundraising efforts. Plus, it was our annual BACA (Bikers Against Child Abuse) Night at the track. At intermission, Big Dog took over the microphone and let the public know what BACA does and why they are needed.


The first race on the track after intermission was the USRA B-Mod A Feature where driver, Dean Green (28 – Siloam Springs, AR), repeated his feat from the previous week by taking the win over Todd Broyles (09 – Fayetteville, AR) and fellow teammate, Paul Harper (7X – Fayetteville, AR).

Next was the Pure Stock A Feature that saw Andrew Bohanan (33B – Stigler, OK) win for the first time this season while driving a car he built for someone else. Wesley Bourne (5 – Cameron, OK) crossed the line second ahead of Marshall Penson (1P - Van Buren, AR).

The next A Feature was for the IMCA Modifieds. Jason Payton (6 – Greenwood, AR) returned to Victory Lane for his third win of the season. Jake Davis (7D – Hackett, AR) finished in second and Kayden Menasco (49 – Muldrow, OK) crossed the line in third.

Next up was the Super Stock A Feature where Brian Slader (19S- Muskogee, OK) ran down race leaser Dylan Davlin (26D – Shady Point, OK) and captured the checkered flag while only leading the last few feet. Gean Davlin (26 – Shady Point, OK) finished third.

The USRA Modifieds took to the high banks next for their A Feature. Trevor Latham (27L – Rogers, AR) found the very high line to his liking and rode the rim for the win. Brent Holman (17 – Rogers, AR) took home second place over George Martin (15 – Fort Smith, AR).

Complete race results for the event are available by clicking on the Results tab. The complete track point standings in each class are available by clicking on the Points tab.


Tri-State Speedway will return to action on Saturday night, June 24th with another night of edge-of-your-seat, heart-pounding excitement point racing for all classes. It will also be car load night where you can get everyone in your vehicle into the grandstands for only $10! Don’t forget the new starting time of 8 PM with both pit gates and grandstand gates opening at 5 PM. Driver’s meeting is at 7 PM and hot laps are scheduled for 7:30 PM.

The complete 2017 racing schedule can always be found by clicking on the Schedule tab.  Also, be sure to stay up to date with us via our social media channels on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and YouTube which can be found by clicking the icons on the bottom of our website home page or by adding a “/” plus “Facebook”, “Twitter”, “Google+” or “YouTube” at the end so it looks like, etc.

We will see YOU soon!

• $10 car load night on June 24th
• 46th Annual Firecracker Spectacular $4,000 to win Pure Stock Special & 5th Annual Curtis Tennant Memorial Races with huge, gigantic fireworks display on June 29th, June 30th and July 1st.

This article posted by Tri-State Speedway. Click here for more track information.