Bookmark and Share


2015 Hall of Fame Class Features Drivers, Car Owners, Staff Members and Photographer


Five individuals with a long standing history here at 81 Speedway will be inducted into the 81 Speedway Hall of Fame at the years annual Award Dinner on Saturday night, January 30, 2016 at the Cotillion Ballroom in Wichita, Ks.

The 2015 class will honor Steve Bush, Darrell Beckham Sr, Chuck Curl, Lena Smith and Cecil Dugan into the 81 Speedway Hall of Fame.

Steve Bush: Driver/Crew Chief.  Steve was a top competitor at the speedway during the Semi Late days of the '70's.  After his championship career, Steve moved out of the seat and became one of the top crew chief's at the speedway in the stock car division.

Darrell Beckham Sr:  Darrell was a car owner throughout the 70's and early 80's.  Darrell was popular not only as a car owner, but in his willingness to help other racers through sponsorship of his business he owned in Valley Center, Ks. known as Darrell's Body Shop.

Chuck Curl:  Chuck recently retired from working at the speedway after a 35 year run that began as a member of the emergency crew at 81 Speedway.  Chuck assisted in check-in, worked up in the scoring tower, coordinated events and was a big part of the office crew prior to his retirement.

Lena Smith:  Lena is the mother of 81 Speedway track champions Lonnie and Delbert Smith.  She is also the mother of car builder Sam Smith.  Lena has been a figure at 81 Speedway for more than 4 decades through her assistance and dedication to her son's and grandson's careers.

Cecil Dugan:  Cecil was the track photographer through much of the late 70's and 80's.  Some of his work can be seen at 81 Speedway inside Tie Rod Tavern.  Cecil has had many of his pictures from the speedway published in trade papers and historic magazines over the years.   

This article posted by 81 Speedway. Click here for more track information.