Bookmark and Share





Marshfield, WI, (July 22, 2014)  The 2nd Annual Dick Trickle Memorial 99+1 went down with dramatic fashion.  Early in the 100-lap feature event, Steve Holzhausen, who just three days earlier claimed the second leg of the Yellow River Racing Series, broke as he entered turn one.  On the restart, it once again was Jeff Weinfurter having a strong hold on the field of cars, as he continues to lead the feature event. Moving to the second position by lap 11, was that of Marshfield, WI driver Dean LaPointe.  LaPointe, who had a top 5 finish in last Saturday’s Yellow River Racing Series 75-lap feature event, continued his success as he notched wins in both the Dash 4 Cash & fast heat.  On lap 22, it was LaPointe putting his race car in the lead, with an outside pass of Weinfurter as they exited turn four.  LaPointe would lead for seven laps, then it was Jason Weinkauf’s turn at leading this annual memorial race honoring one of America’s top drivers.  On lap 33, Eagle River, WI driver Claire Decker moved pass Weinkauf to grab the lead.  Decker, whom of which was looking for her first super late model feature win, looked to have a flawless car.  Jason Weinkauf made numerous attempt at recapturing the race lead, but it was to no avail. Decker, who has been fast wherever she has competed, had nothing but clean air separating her and her first career win!  As Decker enjoyed a comfortable lead, the best battle on the track was for third place between LaPointe and Weinfurter.  Weinfurter kept battling the inside of LaPointe, and finally gained the position as it was apparent the LaPointe machine developed a major push the last 25 laps of the race event.  However, up front, it was Claire Decker taking the checkered flag capturing her first career feature win.  In victory lane, Decker stated, “this is simply amazing, I’m so happy and want to thank everyone for helping make this happen.”  Crossing the finish line second and once again having a podium finish, was Merrill, WI driver Jason Weinkauf.  With Jeff Weinfurter pocketing the third spot, it was Dean LaPointe and Natalie Decker rounding out the top five.

1. Claire Decker

2. Jason Weinkauf

3. Jeff Weinfurter

4. Dean LaPointe

5. Natalie Decker

6. Ryan Hinner

7. Don Turner

8. Ben Pettis

9. Jesse Poksyzk

10. Eugene Gregorich, Jr.

11. Kelsey Schultz

12. Derek VanDreel

13. Steve Holzhausen

14. Jack Greenwood


The X-Treme 4′s put on another great show and it was Adam Eckes tripping the clock fastest as he captured fast time for the 15-car field.  In feature action, it was Eckes looking to make it two feature wins in a row.  Eckes worked his way to the front getting by a very fast Phil Malouf for the race lead.  Brandon Herr looked very fast as he and Derk Hauser battled side by side for the third position. As Adam Eckes crossed the finish line first and Malouf second, it was Derk Hauser edging out Herr for the third position.  Steve Hauser rounded out the top five.

1. Adam Ecvkes

2. Phil Malouf

3. Derk Hauser

4. Brandon Herr

5. Steve Hauser

6. Rick Brandl

7. Danielle Behn

8. Brandon Elmer

9. Justin Mondeik

10. Christine Schmude

11. Isaiah Rowe

12. Ron Sischo

13. Kevin Eckes

14. Chuck Dixon

15. Tim Anderson


Dillon Mackesy, point leader in the Bandit Division of racing, clocked in at a lap time of 21.691 seconds, to earn fast time honors. Eau Claire, WI driver Brian Hudson out lasted Mackesy for the Bandit heat win.  George Seliger visited MMS, and grabbed the top spot in feature action as he edged out Mackesy.  Brian Hudson earned the third position, with Michael Wagner taking fourth.

Kyle Genett made it a clean sweep as he earned top honors in the Pure Stock division.  Nick Erickson, Jr. continued his point championship lead with a runner up spot to Genett. Karl Genett rounded out the top three.

Marshfield Motor Speedway would like to thank Team Menard for displaying the Paul Menard Sprint Cup Car, and the Matt Crafton Truck that was on hand for the Dick Trickle Memorial tonight!  Marshfield Motor Speedway’s next racing event will be August 2nd, with the running of the Tundra Super Late Model Series feature event.  With the championship point race tightening up in the Tundra Super Late Model Series, series officials are looking for a large car count for this special event.

For all the up to date information, visit us online at, or join us on Facebook.

This article posted by Marshfield Motor Speedway. Click here for more track information.